ROMAN REPUBLIC (ITALY) YEAR 7 (1798) – SET of 7, 8, & 9 PAOLI



Roman Republic (Italy) Year 7 (1798) – Set of 7, 8, & 9 Paoli Assignat Issued Under The Short Conquest Of Napoleon.

The Papal States, or States of the Church, were the portion of central Italy under the temporal control of the papacy from the mid-8th century until 1870. They comprised the modern Italian regions of Lazio, Umbria, the Marches, and part of Emilia-Romagna. Awarded to Pope Stephen II in 756 by the Frankish king Pepin the Short, the territory was loosely ruled by the popes until the middle of the 11th century when Pope Gregory VII and his successors began to tighten papal control over central Italy. Even during the stay of the popes at Avignon ( 1309 – 78 ), papal legates maintained some control over the area. With the restoration of a strong papacy after the end ( 1417 ) of the Great Schism, Pope Martin V and his successors became almost absolute monarchs.

In the modern era, the curbing of local feudal families and the crushing of brigands brought a measure of peace and security to central Italy, although the Papal States soon suffered from economic decline and an inefficient bureaucracy.

During the Napoleonic Wars the French occupied Rome, but the Congress of Vienna ( 1815 ) restored papal rule over a much smaller state, comprising the Marches, Umbria, Spoleto, and Lazio. In 1860, during the Risorgimento, the kingdom of Italy annexed the Marches and Umbria, and in 1870 it conquered Rome, which was made the capital of newly unified Italy.

The papacy contested the loss of its territorial sovereignty until 1929, when the Lateran Treaty created the independent state of Vatican City

Presented here is a unique selection of the banknotes of the Papal States, all in well used condition, issued in 1798 – 1799 under the reign of Pontiff Pius VI. These are all printed on both sides and feature the different symbols of the Roman Republic.

Quality As Shown. Guaranteed Genuine.